< Go back

Puerta de San Vicente

Puerta de San Vicente
  • Route 1: Historical Madrid

The Puerta de San Vicente (St. Vincent's Gate) has been built three times over the course of Madrid's history. The initial structure was called "Puerta el Parque", and stood until 1726. The new Ribera gate had three arches and was adorned with a statue of St. Vincent. In 1770, as part of a project to remodel the Cuesta de San Vicente and add new access roads to Palacio from El Pardo, the gate was demolished. Shortly thereafter, Charles III commissioned a new structure to be a gateway to the city. The new gate was built by the architect Francesco Sabatini and was completed in 1775. Source: www.viendomadrid.com

Points of interest and the stop